Immigration Law

Provincial Nominee Programs

Most provinces and territories in Canada have an agreement with the Federal Government that allows them to nominate immigrants who wish to settle in that province or territory. If you choose to immigrate to Canada as a provincial nominee, you must first apply to the province or territory where you wish to settle and complete its provincial / territorial nomination process. The province / territory will consider your application based on its immigration needs and your genuine intention to settle there.

Here is a list of the provinces and territories currently participating in this program. Please follow the links for the province / territory that are of interest to you.


British Columbia


New Brunswick

Newfoundl and Labrador

Northwest Territories

Nova Scotia


Prince Edward Island




After you have been nominated by a province or territory, you have to make a separate application to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) for permanent residence. A CIC officer will then assess your application based on Canadian immigration regulations.

You will have to pass a medical exam and obtain a police certificate.

Provincial nominees are not assessed on the six selection factors of the Federal Skilled Workers Program.